Default Making up new deep hive frames, questioning using fishing line instead of wire?

Mainly, looking at the cost of wire versus fishing line. Since they won’t be going through an extractor and I want to replace the frames out every couple of years, the fishing line sounds appropriate. What is your opinion?

Default Re: Making up new deep hive frames, questioning using fishing line instead of wire?

I have been using 30 lb test for a couple years now...

Default Re: Making up new deep hive frames, questioning using fishing line instead of wire?

No issues? I really can't forsee any.

I have also been using fishingline and it is great when you cut out comb to chrush and strain or pressing or queen cells and it is perfectly safe to put in an extractor ,I lay the line double in a loop and run it trough the holes for the vire it is fastened with a paperpin and a couple of halfhitch knot, insert the foundation between so it stayes where it should
    Only issue i have had is some frames that i put in to thin a line and the bees chew through those

I remember a fellow ... probably the first "foundationless" person I'd met ... who made slight cuts at regular intervals on the horizontal and vertical sections using a coping saw, then wrapped 30-pound test fishing line in a double-diamond shaped pattern through the center of the frame. (As I recall, the line criss-crossed from one side of the frame to the other.) He tied it firmly with the small knots that any good fisherman uses. And ... it seemed to work great.

Lately, I've been wondering if that same idea could be applied to a hTBH bar, even if it simply consisted of a free-hanging perhaps double loop or loops of fishing line, the idea being that the bees would probably naturally incorporate it into their comb. (Maybe with a very tiny non-lead fishing weight or two?)