Thread: Wax Moths

Default Wax Moths

I got them......

What do you other Warre people do with Wax Moths? Im not sure at the level of infestation or how to monitor it since I cant pull frames easily.

When I opened my hive and pulled the top cloth I caught one or two larva on the top of the top bars. There is moth poop and limited cocoons in the nooks and crannies around the top bars as well. I have also noticed poop collecting/being pushed out of the hive between my top box and the middle box (three box high hive) so I suspect they are in the second box down as well.

Any help would be much appreciated as I am new to this and dont want to lose my bees.

Default Re: Wax Moths

Kelbor, I have been keeping bees since the late sixties. I have never seen wax moths in a strong hive. If you have wax moths then your bee colony is probally to weak already to defend themselves. I live in Wisconsin now, but originally from Florida. I currently have a Warre that is almost empty of bees. and there is no sign of waxmoths in it. Have not had a problem with them in my Warre's. I see that it has been 6 days since you posted this. Have you looked any further into your hive since?
    Ralph Waldo Emerson "To map out a course of action and follow it to the end requires courage". John 3;17

Yeah, and although I am just a newbee I feel like the hive is fairly strong - It survived the winter just fine without ever being fed or babied or treated with anything. I have noticed bees with mites on them from this hive last year and was sure the hive would not make the winter but they did just fine and I have not seen a mite yet this year. Tons of bees flying every day. Lots of brood and pollen. Three boxes high with the top one full of capped honey. More bees then one can count enter and leave the hive constantly.

I am actually surprised it took six days to get a single response -it seems like whenever there is a issue with a Warre all the advocates for them shut down........