Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lyons, CO
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Taurus 627 revolver: can I re-barrel?

    So I have a Taurus 627 in 357 mag that I like, but it has a 6" barrel and it's a bit unwieldy. I'd like to swap for a 4" barrel (ported, stainless). Taurus doesn't have an email on their "contact us" page . Anyone know if this can be done? Where I'd go to buy the barrel, and approx. cost?
    Bees, brews and fun
    in Lyons, CO

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    DFW area, TX, USA
    Posts
    956

    Default Re: Taurus 627 revolver: can I re-barrel?

    A gunsmith can cut the barrel for you at a much lower cost than changing barrels. You might have some challenges with the sights though.
    Lee Burough
    I try to learn from my mistakes, and from yours when you give me a heads up :)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lyons, CO
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Re: Taurus 627 revolver: can I re-barrel?

    Well, if I didn't want the sight and the ported barrel, a sawzall would have replaced this post .
    Bees, brews and fun
    in Lyons, CO

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Lyons, CO
    Posts
    3,030

    Default Re: Taurus 627 revolver: can I re-barrel?

    Anyone?
    Bees, brews and fun
    in Lyons, CO

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    DFW area, TX, USA
    Posts
    956

    Default Re: Taurus 627 revolver: can I re-barrel?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Brewcat View Post
    Well, if I didn't want the sight and the ported barrel, a sawzall would have replaced this post .
    Cut the breach end and mill it.
    Lee Burough
    I try to learn from my mistakes, and from yours when you give me a heads up :)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Weston MO
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Taurus 627 revolver: can I re-barrel?

    It can be done, but $$$ get in the way. Find a 4" gun and try to work a trade. I run a retail shop with 2 full-time smiths: neither wil tackle this job unless you have the barrel.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Weeki Wachee, Florida,USA
    Posts
    1,820

    Default Re: Taurus 627 revolver: can I re-barrel?

    Shoot a 4" ported barrel for a while and see if you like it.
    I don't care for ported anything. .357 recoil isn't that bad in a 4" non alloy gun but the muzzle blast and noise will be ....I wouldnt care for it.

    These are just my thoughts, I went a completely different direction.

    http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/w...layErrorView_Y

    Recoil and muzzle blast are both beyond significant but this gun fits a need.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads