Default Stupid Question???

I am new to TBH. I know these questions are probably stupid but I really want to know..

1. How can I get some drawn comb for my new TBH?
    2. Could I place bars in my Lang hives and let them draw it out?
    3. Are the bars the same length?

I have decided to wait until next spring to start my TBH..So, I have plenty of time to get a jump start on the hive... Any suggestions ideas are welcome..

Default Re: Stupid Question???

You could attach the comb, there are a bunch of methods for that. Hairclips, rubber bands, frames around the bars, etc.
    is
    You could but they may not start drawing down in the center. if they start to one side it doesn't help you much. In a perfect world they would draw down from the center and once it got towards the bottom you could pull it out and put it in your hive.

There is no standard for top bar hives, everyone has their own opinion as to what is best. Mine are 19 inches so they can fit in a Lang, but you can do what you think is best.

One way that I have gotten the bees to start drawing comb on empty top bars is to take pieces of burr comb or doubled comb from another bar or frame and melt it onto the empty bar to get them started. Seems to work pretty well.

I went the other way, though...started with TBHs a couple of years ago and then started two langs this year with packages. I cut comb off of the top bar hives and melted it onto the frames for the langs to get them started...used some rubber bands for bigger pieces.

The bees will make a much better attachment once they start on it.

Most top bars and lang frames are not interchangeable unless you specifically design your TBH to be the right size for them to be interchangeable.

Good luck!