Default First harvest ....

Super was so packed and heavy I decided to harvest some and store.... 5 frames got me 5 liters, wow! Is that a lot? These are from the Italian girls and was a split last August. Bees are still going at it strong in my neck of the woods; now I know why CA is called the land of milk and honey.....

Hope you like my pic!

SpringHoney.JPG

Edit to correct to 5 liters, not gallons!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by CaBees; 06-19-2012 at 04:10 PM.

Default Re: First harvest ....

Quote Originally Posted by CaBees View Post
    Is that a lot?
    I usually average about four gallons per deep. What are you doing differently because I want to go to there.
    Solomon Parker, Parker Farms, ParkerFarms.biz
    11 Years Treatment-Free, ~25 Colony Baseline

Yeah, wow. Four full med. supers got me 10 gals.
    Buy the ticket, take the ride. -H.S. Thompson

Maybe you need to come to California? This is my first year and I have a feeling I am getting spoiled. The oldtimers are saying they've never seen swarms like this and after two years of fickled weather ruining budding crops this year is making up for it. Last year we had cold and rain that ruined the olive blossoms and who knows what else..I had no olives...this year I have a bumper crop of everything! And it isn't because of my bees since my neighbor had bees in her old oak tree for years. When that tree went down I started getting interested in saving them (a more experienced beekeeper did) and that is how I got into it...

So yes, location, location, location......

Wait, is that a gallon jar? It doesn't look quite big enough to be a gallon.
    Solomon Parker, Parker Farms, ParkerFarms.biz
    11 Years Treatment-Free, ~25 Colony Baseline

Is that small one a pint jar? 2 pints to the quart, 8 pints (4 quarts) make a gallon, so there would be 40 pints in 5 gallons. I wonder if there is a conversion mistake involved.