Hybrid View

Default Total newbee here with question

I was planning to spend the coming winter studying this beekeeping business so I would have some knowlege before jumping in the spring but my plan was changed last month when I suddenly ended up with four established hives. No knowlege whatsoever and very busy with the garden. I've been reading as much as I can. When I got these hives the honey had already been taken and someone told me to add a meduim super and start feeding. Two of these hives have been taking in a gallon a day, and two of them about half a gallon a day. I'm doing one part syrup and two parts water. About a week after adding the supers I checked them and they were drawing comb real nice. Today I pulled out all ten frames of the mediums on both hives and all twenty frames are completely full of "syrup" I guess and almost half way capped. Is this good, bad? What should I do now. Both of these two hives are packed with bees. I know nothing about flows and that sort of stuff right yet but my thinking is that I should stop feeding. I've got clover, honeysuckles and blackberries everywhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Total newbee here with question

Relative newbee here but this is what I think.

You probably should stop feeding. Its much better for them to store honey for the winter than syrup and its certainly better if you plan to harvest again this year. Even if you are wrong and their is no flow going on now they will be able to survive for some time on that much capped syrup, giving you time to figure out what to do.

If the supers you have right now are completely full of syrup I would add another medium ASAP.

A good way to tell if the bees are foraging is to watch them at the hive entrances and watch how many of them are bringing in pollen (little bundles of yellow or orange on their back legs) If many of the bees have pollen it is likely they are foraging well.