Default Yes it's June, but what should my N CA hive look like for Winter?

This is my first year, so forgive my off-season question. On our coast, freezes are few and far between. The biggest concern I have is the rain we get: we receive a considerable amount in winter. On our property, much of the area turns to "swamp"--several inches or so of water just about everywhere (the ducks are exceptionally happy about this).

What is the best way to protect the hive from all that water?

The hive is positioned on a "hill" on a 2' stand, but come winter, this spot will be surrounded by water. I have an all med. 10 frame setup--3 boxes on right now. I have a screened bottom board from Country Rubes and a ventilated inner cover underneath my telescoping cover from Mann Lake.

Thank you,
    Jennie Alice

by the way, bees and ducks seems to get along happily.

Default Re: Yes it's June, but what should my N CA hive look like for Winter?

I like to provide some sort of roof above all my hives to keep the woodware dry. You might consider doing that and also ratchet strap the roof down instead of using bricks or whatever. Also, if there's a pond beneath them in the Winter, on days they can fly out to forage, you don't want them to accidentally fall into the water. Perhaps a easier to land area but be sure it will not allow water to roll into the hive if your hive is not leveled or slightly tilted forward. And of course the roof to cover all around to keep everything dry as mentioned above.

All that moisture isn't the best thing for you're bees, but I guess you already know that.
    Besides the moisture, are you're hives going to stay stable once the ground starts getting soft. I'd be concerned with one side sinking & the hives falling over.
    Dan