Default Anybody using ship lap joint on their boxes?

Searched the forum but found nothing. Wondering if instead of just rabet joint is it worth it to dado both boards and ship lap the corners. Is a ship lap that much stronger?

I glue and staple rabbets right now and they seem fine.
    Raising Vermont Bees one mistake at a time.
    USDA Zone 5A

Default Re: Anybody using ship lap joint on their boxes?

Are you talking about a tongue and groove type joint? If so, I would think it would resist warping more than a rabbet. Like you said - wether its needed or not is the question! I tend to lean towards making the extra two dado cuts, just in case...

My only concern would be that the board with the groove cut perpendicular to the grain might be prone to tear out or chipping - but with good gluing and sealing, you'd probably be ok.

Andrew

I am no pro woodworker but to me a rabet is where you dado only one board (short end of super) and a ship lap is when you dado both the short and the long ends.

This guy does it . . .

USDA Zone 5A

Ship lap is longitudinal along the grain, rabbets can be either way (i.e. shiplap is a type of rabbet joint).

You can do a rabbet for the box ends either by cutting one dado or two -- the latter is probably stronger, but a bit tricker to make. Locking miter joints are better, but more difficult to cut.

Peter

Thanks for that Peter. Now I know!
    USDA Zone 5A

I started out making box joints. After that batch, I did ship lap rabbet joints. To me it was super easy after the hassle of box joints. I have double deep hives that have one box joined super and one ship lap super and the bees can't tell the difference.

If ship lap is what it is called then all my boxes are ship lap. I cut a rabbet on both pieces. It more or less squares itself and once you nail it both ways it cant come apart without tearing something up. Exposes much less end grain also.(I checked it) It is also about four times as fast as making box joints.