Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    122

    Default Bees for TBH, if no packages or swarms avail?

    Is there a fairly straightforward method to 'create' a swarm from a langstroth to add to a brand new un-drawn TBH? Basically can I stick a TBH in the place of an existing langstroth, then shake some bees including the queen into the TBH and have them just figure it out?

    If so, what would one do with all the brood? Would it be taken over alright by other hives? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Aguadilla - puerto rico
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Bees for TBH, if no packages or swarms avail?

    I Think you are talking about making a split not creating a swarm, there alot of info on making splits and that only works if you have some queens cell ,check on you tube, you don't want to make you bees swarm , you will lose them that way

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    637

    Default Re: Bees for TBH, if no packages or swarms avail?

    You can, indeed, just shake out all of the bees from the Lang into the TBH. However, the frames/brood, etc. would be wasted unless you had another Lang to stick them in. Just make sure the queen ends up in the TBH! I wouldn't recommend this method unless absolutely necessary. The other option would be to "chop and crop" the frames to fit the TBH. There are Youtube videos showing this method.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Knox, Pa. USA
    Posts
    1,242

    Default Re: Bees for TBH, if no packages or swarms avail?

    Here is how you can do a split. and keep both hives going. Shake the queen and bees from several hive frames into the top bar hive seal it up. take it a minimum of 2.5 miles from the location of the original hive. and set it up. the bees in the new hive will be too far to find their way home, and the old hive will build a new queen they will go to work almost immediately on the task and because they will have all the brood they will become a strong hive again in no time. The TBH bees will go to building comb right away. Having a productive queen she will begin laying eggs as soon a the comb is built. In fact on your initial inspection you may find multiple eggs in a single cell. do not panic, The house bees will move them to individual cells as they are completed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Berwick, Maine, USA
    Posts
    45

    Default Re: Bees for TBH, if no packages or swarms avail?

    I've seen a video by Phil Chandler ( biobees) where he chops Lang frames into tbh shapes to convert them. Check his YouTube channel.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Vancouver Island North, BC, Canada
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Bees for TBH, if no packages or swarms avail?

    It's a PITA but I have converted a nuc to top bar. The hive is thriving 6 weeks onward.

    http://www.beesource.com/forums/show...a-Nuc-into-TBH

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Pineville, Louisiana, USA
    Posts
    75

    Default Re: Bees for TBH, if no packages or swarms avail?

    You could build a Tanzanian and just add the NUC frames or build your KTBH the width of a lang and let the bees build down into the TBH. The latter would take more monitoring and manipulation I would think, but it should work.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads