Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Egg laying cells

3K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  llgoddj 
#1 ·
Hi all, I am new to top bar beekeeping, one week. I have been inspecting my hive regularly through the window i made, but have no idea whether i have my queen and whether she is laying eggs. I see the bees making comb, but can not distinguish the difference between the types of comb. How can I tell what kind of cells are being made? Do I need to open the hive and try and find the queen? Should I normally be able to find cells where eggs are being hatched?

thanks and sorry for all the questions, but I am a newbee!

#2 ·
So you have the much envied observation window... I need one for convenience.

Anyway, if they are building comb then they are fine. They will build a bunch of comb at first, and more than likely the queen is laying in that comb. If your queen is not marked, then finding her is sometimes hard. You can however inspect the hive and pretty much know she is there without actually seeing her. If there aren't any funky queen cells being built then your queen is probably still in house. Remember she goes out to mate (I don't know if it is every day or not) So she may be out on a date while you are looking for her. If you want to see her then open the hive later in the day.

#5 ·
The queen leaves the hive quite often to mate maybe not every day but often. If you don't see supercedure queen cells then your'e fine. Normally the bees will supercede within 3 or 4 days when the queen is gone.
P.S. open your hive whenever you want. I have a real job and I check my hive whenever I get home. Only thing is you will have more worker bees buzzing around at the end of the day.

#4 ·
If it has already been a full week then I would suggest you go ahead and do your first "REAL" insepection! :applause:

If there aren't very many combs made yet it wont be too awful hard to find the queen on the combs. Go ahead and pull each one and take a good look at each.