Hybrid View

Default Flat, smooth foundation?

What happens when flat, smooth foundation is used? Does it work, or do the bees really need the hexagonal indentations to build upon?

Default Re: Flat, smooth foundation?

not sure where these ideas come from?

Not sure what they would do with a flat sheet of wax. I suspect they need the indentions to get started drawing it out at all.

If you want to let them draw out the comb with the sizes they want to build, you can just use a starter strip of foundation. That is a topic all to itself, and there are many threads about that on Beesource, if you are interested.

If you are just starting out, my personal opinion is that you should start with wax foundation.

I'm in my second year, and just did my first harvest. So, I have some wax. I like the idea of foundationless frames and will explore that, but I figured that if I could easily make flat foundation, and it would work, then it would save the girls some work!

Through 120 Million years of evolution the bees have been getting along just fine, the last 100 years humans have come along wanting to fix what is not broken, and lend Nature a hand. I am not sure this will play out well in the end.

It would be cheap and easy to make - just curious what would happen.

Quote Originally Posted by kspitze View Post
    It would be cheap and easy to make - just curious what would happen.
    Having tried to make my own foundation...unsuccessfully...it was neither cheap nor easy. Foundationless frames with popsicle sticks or tongue depressers really is cheap, and easy! And I don't have to re-invent the wheel!

Grant
    Jackson, MO
    Beekeeping With Twenty-five Hives: https://www.createspace.com/4152725

I believe M Bush tried that. I believe that his conclusion was bee preference was. foundationless, embossed foundation. smooth foundation then the plastics at the lower end. I have also considered it but will not go with it for that reason.
    Old Guy in Alabama