Default Wannabee in NC seeks mentor

OK I've lurked long enough - you all seem friendly and helpful, so hi!

I've been hankering for many years to keep bees, but I am nervous about it and would really feel a lot more confident if I could find a local mentor who wouldn't mind walking me through my first season or so. I've read and read and read a lot, but still, there's nothing like experience. And local experience, too! Are there any local organizations that could provide this for me, or maybe even readers of this board who live nearby and have some time to spare now and then?

Most of what I read about beekeeping deals with the challenges of keeping bees in cold climates, but as I discovered when I moved here 20+ years ago and started gardening: living in a warm climate provides as many challenges as it does advantages. With gardening, over half of what I planted died the first few years, until I gained new experience (basically re-learned how to garden all over again!) With plants, that's a nuisance and an expense, but with living creatures, I would just feel really, really bad - and the living creatures themselves might not feel so great about it, either

I live out in the county (Franklin, to be precise) outside city limits, but I do live in a "subdivision" of several-acres-each tracts. There are no rules against beekeeping (either HOA or official) but I do have one neighbor who can be contentious about random things, and who once mentioned in casual conversation that her parents once had neighbors who kept bees and that her parents should have sued them because "you never know, something might happen." (Which I know is not valid grounds for a lawsuit, but still, peace in the valley and all...)

So, that is my first concern: getting help finding a site for a hive that would be out of the line of sight from the road, but still good for the bees, and me, in that order. I have several spots in mind, but experienced eyes might have a better idea.