Default Angry smoked bees and possible outsiders?

I'm new to beekeeping and have checked the hive about 3-4 times now. I filled up the bottom box and added another on top minus 2 frames to allow room for sugar water. This last time I tried to check on things, the bees were quiet at first but really charged out in a big uproar as soon as I added smoke (haven't they read the literature?). I puffed more smoke and they got madder and started stinging. I decided discretion was the better choice so I quickly got out of the area.

Lately, I've noticed some other bees at the entrance that seem different. One (on left side of image) is probably a drone? but the other (right side) is about the same size but just a much lighter color than the rest. I haven't seen either of these for the past week or so, so it might be moot, but I wondered what the situation might be. Any help/insight?
    3_Bees.jpg

Default Re: Angry smoked bees and possible outsiders?

A queen mates with multiple drones so it is very common to have dark and light bees in a hive depending on who's sperm she uses. I am confused about leaving out two frames to allow room for syrup Are you smoking the entrance and this is where they are charging out of? Is your smoke cool or hot? Need more input!
    Mike Forbes
    Red Dirt Apiaries