Default general question???

I hope I am doing this right... this is my first time on the forum. I am brand new this season and it has been a rough start. I am using a tbh and I have gone through 2 diffrent packages that didn't take. I purchased a new queen with only about 100 bees left. A local bee keeper brought me a swarm that we put into the hive. He said to leave the caged queen as maybe it would entice the swarm to stay in the hive( so they could kill her I presume). Anyway... I have been in the hive 2 times to feed and I noticed they will not go near the caged queen. (She is still alive and a sm. amont of candy is left)They started their nest in the back away from her, I tried to move some of the bars but they moved them back the next day. The last time I went in they were balled up. Does this mean they are going to swarm again? My other quesiton is it has been cold and rainy here and I didnt want to open the hive but I'm sure they need syrup. Which is better letting the cold in or letting them get hungry? Lastly, I should remove that other queen right?

Default Re: general question???

It shouldn't be cold enough to hurt them now so I wouldn't worry about opening the hive if it is above 50 degrees. They cluster together to stay warm. I have never heard of putting 2 queens in the same hive. I would get her out of there and see if another beekeeper in your area could use her. Keep feeding. It will take them awhile to draw comb and get settled in. You should be having a flow soon which will really help them take off.