Hybrid View

Default Top bar hive entrance front or side?

Which one is better front or side entrance to the top bar hive? With building a top bar hive and having front entrance do you still need to make dividers for the front and back or just the back? Also how do you feed the bees do you just stick jar of surger water and set it inside or does it need to be mounted inside?

Default Re: Top bar hive entrance front or side?

total newbeee here.....I don't know much and have only one hive I started last year.

on the feeding.....I just put the jar of sugar water right behind the cluster after I installed em last year. Since then I haven't fed them again.

I have a friend that also started a hive the same time as I did with a tbh and he had the wind blow over his hive during the winter cus a board of plywood pushed up against his hive.......anyhow, he had a mess of broken comb and ended up harvesting a lot of stores.......just a week ago we looked at em and they were totally empty on the stores and we put in a jar of sugar water inside right behind the last comb......they really wanted something to eat cus they marched right to it.

I like to use a side entrance but place it towards either end rather than the center of the hive. With a front entrance you would only need one follower board, another reason that I like the additional flexibility that the side entrance offers (a bit easier to work from either end). For feeding syrup I have a spare follower board with a notch cut into the bottom of it that allows me to slide an entrance feeder into it. That way I can monitor the syrup level through the window and swap it out as needed without removing bars or disturbing the bees.

I just use a top entrance. I simply leave a 1/2 space between the end of the hive and the first top bar and my lid is such that the bees have no problems streaming in and out. Also I haven't put any unwanted holes in my hives that I might regret later on

Cheers

Not front or side, but top.