Default Direct release, or bee release...And feeder?

Thoughts on spraying bees and queen or not. I have two top bars completed. Bees will be here and ready to install the 6th of may. Nights right now are still fairly chill at or slightly below freezing.

I also thought about a marshmallow for a fairly quick bee release either suspended or laid on the bottom of my tbh.

I am brand new to keeping bees. I built two golden mean hives. Still need to finish the window covers up tonight. I have their video and keeping bees in western Canada book.

Also wanted to ask about size. The gmtbh seems small. Has anyone tried a super? If so will I need the spaces between the bars like in langstroths in the golden mean complete with queen excluder?

Lastly. I built the feeder shown on the "honey beats" website. I'd post a link if I knew how, using my cell right now. Anyways. Instead of screen around the jar I used some thin plywood. Drilled a hole with appropriate Forstner bit. Question is will this be ok? And about how big of holes do I need and how many in the mason jar lid?

Thanks!
    Dan
    Alaska

Ps great site been reading the last week or so now.

Default Re: Direct release, or bee release...And feeder?

Heres my hive and my feeder.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

not sure how, but i managed to crack one of my windows putting the finishing touches. its the one with the door over it right now. So far its not loose but it did crack from the end down to the bottom edge. They are glued in with plumbers goop. I might try and chip it out and just clip it in, not sure how to really say that.

I do have the backer board for my feeders. Wanted to be certain the feeders are ok? is the entrance big enough? how big of holes and how many in the lid?

beehive2.jpg
    beehive1.jpg