Hybrid View

Default Necessity of feeding a mating nuc

I am a hobbyist who plans to raise a few queens this spring in southwestern Montana. I intend to partition some deep hive bodies into 2 or 3 compartments for mating nuc purposes.

My question is this: as long as nectar and pollen are naturally available to the mating nucs, is it absolutely essential to feed them? If not, I can make a three-way partition out of each deep box. Thank you for your insights.

Doug Stream
    Belgrade, Montana

Default Re: Necessity of feeding a mating nuc

When you first set up a mating nuc, it's generally a bit short on foragers as you're mainly adding younger, nurse bees...so I'd feed it (and I don't generally like to feed much)...that, or I'd use a bigger (5-8 frame) nuc that had a bit of stored honey in it (like I said, I don't like feeding).

My mating nucs have 3 full size medium frames. I make them up with 1 frame of open honey, 1 frame of mostly capped brood, and 1 frame of foundation.

I pulled queens out yesterday and the frame of foundation was drawn and filled with honey in nearly every one. I pulled a frame of honey out of nearly every one and replaced it with another frame of foundation.

So I would say you don't need to feed.

Johnny
    "Suppose you were an idiot and suppose you were a member of Congress. But I repeat myself." - Mark Twain