Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brainerd, MN
    Posts
    533

    Default 8 Frame Hive-1 Deep 3 Mediums

    So I am starting some 8 frames Langs this spring. I have enough equipment for 2 hives. Each having 1 deep and 3 mediums. Is that enough or should I get more lumber? I was going to go all mediums, but the nucs are in deeps. So I figure I could probably have one deep per hive and keep the rest in mediums. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    31

    Default Re: 8 Frame Hive-1 Deep 3 Mediums

    That is the set up I have. It has been working fine for me. I overwintered in the deep and two mediums.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Great Falls Montana
    Posts
    3,835

    Default Re: 8 Frame Hive-1 Deep 3 Mediums

    Personally I would want at least one more super apiece or plan on extracting after every flow and getting boxes back on. Plan and manage for a crop or why are you keeping bees?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Garland County, AR
    Posts
    1,076

    Default Re: 8 Frame Hive-1 Deep 3 Mediums

    Vance, I have some friends whose sole purpose in keeping bees is to help bee populations. They could care less about the honey.

    Bush - I started that way and finally got the deeps off this year. It seemed whenever I needed to do changing, I was thwarted because I couldn't move everything around without regard to size of equip. Plus, even tho u might not move it often, that deep is still pretty dern heavy when you do have to move it.

    My nuc came as a deep so I did what you did, logically. No one told me I could've just put the deep into two stacked mediums.
    Zone 7b ~ Central Arkansas
    8fr medium equipment

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Surfside Beach, SC
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: 8 Frame Hive-1 Deep 3 Mediums

    Quote Originally Posted by Seymore View Post
    Bush - I started that way and finally got the deeps off this year. It seemed whenever I needed to do changing, I was thwarted because I couldn't move everything around without regard to size of equip.
    I agree. It helps a lot to have all mediums and no deeps. Standardized hive boxes and frames makes life much simpler. Michael Bush's site will even show you how to convert your deep boxes and frames to mediums. I did it and it was easy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brainerd, MN
    Posts
    533

    Default Re: 8 Frame Hive-1 Deep 3 Mediums

    Quote Originally Posted by Vance G View Post
    Personally I would want at least one more super apiece or plan on extracting after every flow and getting boxes back on. Plan and manage for a crop or why are you keeping bees?
    That is essentially what I was wondering. As a small time hobby keeper, I don't really have problems extracting frequently, but slapping a couple of extra boxes together won't be a big deal at all. One afternoon of cutting and painting and the boxes are done. Convincing the wife that I need to buy more frames is the hard part! I already have two bottom boards and two roofs. So I may as well go all in and do it right.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Garland County, AR
    Posts
    1,076

    Default Re: 8 Frame Hive-1 Deep 3 Mediums

    You can also keep those deeps, which I did, for bait hives and for pail feeding on top of the hive. Since you only have two, may make more sense to keep them and just not build more. Plus, if you ever buy a nuc again, you will have a spare for that.
    Zone 7b ~ Central Arkansas
    8fr medium equipment

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads