Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    cloquet,minnesoat,usa
    Posts
    104

    Default getting package bees

    I am getting some package bee's in a week or so and I want to start them in mediums, should I use 1 or 2 mediums to start them? I have alway started in deeps before.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Evansville, IN
    Posts
    2,489

    Default Re: getting package bees

    Use one, only difference between a medium and a deep is that you will need to put the second box on sooner, I think.

    Probably need a third box, too, eventually.

    Peter

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Franklin County, PA
    Posts
    469

    Default Re: getting package bees

    Hi larrymn, I have only put them in a deep before as well.... so i'm guessing to a degree but I would think one medium would be fine. Feed them for a month or so to save them energy on foraging for nectar so they can get to building wax for the queen to lay in. They should take off after a month or so. Add the second medium when things look well established in the first medium. Hopefully someone who has actually started packages in mediums will respond. I'm curious if your instinct is along the lines of what I'm thinking I'm planning on putting packages in 5 frame deep nucs to see how that goes. VW

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    2,360

    Default Re: getting package bees

    A 3 pound package fits nicely in a single medium.
    President, San Francisco Beekeepers Association
    www.habitatforhoneybees.org

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Moorescille, NC
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: getting package bees

    I put mine in a single medium. After they get 3-4 frames filled out with brood, I will add the second box. They have to maintain hive temperature and a single medium really helps them a lot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Fairfield County, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    3,590

    Default Re: getting package bees

    A single medium will be fine.

    Three pounds of bees will also fit in a five frame medium nuc... for a while.
    BeeCurious
    Trying to think inside the box...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Humboldt, South Dakota
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: getting package bees

    I started my first two packages in single medium boxes last spring. Unlike this year, we had a cold, wet spring last year and I think the smaller size of the medium box helped.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads