Thread: Bee choice?

Default Bee choice?

I am a complete beginner. I have been reading everything and really like the treatment free philosophy. I would like to set up two hives this spring. I have a choice between local nucs from a commercial beekeeper, or I could order SC nucs from Wolf Creek or Dixie Supply. Everything I hear is that SC AND local bees are important, but I can't get SC bees locally.

If I have to choose between the two, which would you recommend?

Thanks!
    Tiffany

Default Re: Bee choice?

Those would both be good choices but you live relatively close to a lot of people with resistant bees. Just get cracking on finding some. It is getting late to order believe it or not.

I ordered from Wolf Creek last year and the bees have been great so far. I am a beginner and both hives have survived the winter so far, although the package I thought would be the stronger of the two has been just Ok, but the one that I thought would be just OK has been gangbusters. I found the Seaborns at WC to be great to work with, although the weather last spring in TN pushed back shipment by about a month, but I am glad I was patient because the bees worked out so well for me. They have also been very gentle and pretty much free of pests.

First - Hello and Welcome. Nice to see another Indiana beekeeper.

I always recommend the local nucs. Not only are they locally adapted bees, I believe it's important to get connected to the beekeepers in your area. As Vance noted in his post, there are quite a few Indiana beekeepers who have been working with Purdue in breeding mite-resistant bees.

Along those lines, are you involved with a local club? I know several beekeepers in the Southeast Indiana club (www.indianahoney.org). Given your location, there might be a southwestern Ohio club that's close: http://www.ohiostatebeekeepers.org/a...-associations/