Default Fumidil-B or Fumagilin-B

Hello, maybe this is a no brainer but I am new to beekeeping and have been seeing Fumidil-B for nosema and Fumagilin-B for nosema as well. What is the difference as one is considerably more expensive. Are they the same or are they completely different?

Default Re: Fumidil-B or Fumagilin-B

I could be mistaken, I don't try to keep up on Fumidil since I've never used it, I don't think you'll actually find both for sale anymore, but the names are often used interchangeably as the active ingredient is the same. In case you do find them both in actuality, the newer one, Fumagillin-B, is supposed to dissolve more easily than the old Fumadil-B. Both come from Abbot Labs.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesterms.htm#Fumagillin
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Bush View Post
    I could be mistaken....
    Really? Why, I never would have believed it if I hadn't heard this directly from you!

Savage, Fumidil-B was a perfectly good product but the inert ingredients disolved poorly.
    I have not seen this product on the market for years.
    When Medivet placed Fumigillin on the market, we were very pleased with their product.
    It disolved easily and quickly and DID THE NUMBER ON NOSEMA!
    There are a couple of other products on the market claiming to help with nosema and they are worthy of testing.
    WARNING: Please do not fall prey to the "I don't treat" crowd that have never been succsessful beekeepers and probably never will.
    Keep in touch with your monthly be journals and current research.
    Nosema is a close second to mites in loss of bees and surplus honey crops.
    No amount of mouthing from the gallery will address those issues in your hives.
    Thanks for the question, and good luck!
    Here is some contact info for you:

MEDIVET PHARMACEUTICALS LTD.
    #4 55 9TH AVE. S.E., HIGH RIVER, AB, T1V 1E6