Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Warre practically empty

No matter how much one reads, there's still a lot to learn. This is my first year as a beek and after much research I decided to go with a Warre hive. I know you're just supposed to let the bees go and do their own thing, but I decided to open the hive over a few month period every 2-4 weeks just to learn more. I learned a lot by reading several books before I even acquired my bees, but it's another thing to learn firsthand by experiencing something. I always enjoyed opening the hive up every time I visited to check on their progress. Whenever I did inspect them, I would normally only look at 2 bars.

When I pulled out a bar, I tried to keep it over the hive while inspecting it just for that reason. I never marked my queen, I just tried to keep an eye on her progress and how much she was laying. I just checked my records and it looks like there was a decrease in the amount of new brood in July. The top box had beautiful, straight comb that was filling up with nectar, honey, and different stages of brood. However, when the bees started building comb in the second or bottom box, the comb started to drift over and connect with the comb next to it and I noticed she wasn't laying as much in those.