Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Smile Nectar Flow has Started, what next???

Hi,

I'm pretty new to this so please excuse the question. We are in late spring here in Australia and have been getting only mild weather (say 20 degrees celcius) for the past week or so. I was away for a few days but on my return yesterday, the bees were going off! There seemed to be a massive que for them to re-enter the hive and could see some had pollen, but quite a lot didn't, I'm thinking there is quite a strong nectar flow happening at the moment.

They hadn't moved to the top box the last time I looked about a week ago (I was worried this was a queen exluder problem, I'm over that concern now!) They had in the past week drawn one comb fully and filled it with nectar, and have begun drawing out a further 3 - 4 combs at this point. I'm wondering how long it would possibly take for them to finish drawing the comb (10 frames, probably 4 full ones & 4 halfs to go) and fill and cap them?

I'm also wondering if I should now leave them alone for a couple of weeks and when I do my next inspection, how far do I go? Til now I'd been opening the hive up every week to familiarise myself with the hive but now they are starting to store nectar, I'm thinking it will be more productive if I leave them alone?

Also, how much would you normally do with the bottom box? Do you just pull out a couple of frames and check them relatively quickly or would you pull all frames, remove brood comb on the bottom of the frames (if you should do this, or should I just leave it there?).

Any help, suggestions or comments on personal experiences would be greatly appreciated here!

John

Default Re: Nectar Flow has Started, what next???