Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Beaverton, MI, USA
    Posts
    148

    Default 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    I am looking at building 50 to 150 bottoms, anyone know a good source for 1/8" hardware cloth at a decent price?

    TIA

    Wayne

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Louisville Kentucky USA
    Posts
    460

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    I got it at ACE hardware in a 100 ft roll for about $95. Their shelf price was a lot higher but I talked to the manager and told him I needed a 100 ft roll and I wouldnt pay that price.He cut me a better price and got a repeat customer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    2,294

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    I did the same at Ace. They're good about negotiating bulk material like that. I looked on line but when you include shipping, I found it's better to get it locally with a negotiated price.
    President, San Francisco Beekeepers Association
    www.habitatforhoneybees.org

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Bergen, Norway
    Posts
    249

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    Sorry if I steal the thread for a minute. -But I have gotten the impression that the HW-cloth needs to be stainless to not rust very fast in a hive, due to the acidity in honey and the moisture in the hive.

    Is this unfounded? Is it only for honey processing the materials should be stainless?
    Last edited by Duboisi; 10-19-2011 at 01:21 PM. Reason: typos

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Beaverton, MI, USA
    Posts
    148

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    Quote Originally Posted by Duboisi View Post
    I have gotten the impression that the HW-cloth needs to be stainless

    The screened bottoms sold commercially use galvinized HD, so my guess is it is Okie Doekie.

    Wayne

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Denison, Texas
    Posts
    518

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    i ordered mine from Hardware and Tools.com. We don't have an Ace Hardware around here. Home Depot and Lowe's don't
    carry it. It's galvanized. I think it cost like $15 for a 10ft. by 3ft. roll. It shipped for about $9. I only had about 4 top bar hives
    to build though.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Algoma dr. Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    561

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    I had to order it in. 50 ft roll galvanized. I think 28 gua. about 85$ I was concerned about longevity but someone on another forum says they have some on bottom boards for 6 year and no probs. Maybe the propolis coats it like cosmoline they put on stored firearms.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Alachua County, FL, USA
    Posts
    6,440

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    Probably me for six years. My bees do not propolis it either.
    americasbeekeeper.com
    beekeeper@americasbeekeeper.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Hays, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    1,095

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    Ditto to Ace Hardware if you have one. The last time I bought some , it was around a $1/ running foot at 3' wide. Galvanized should last for quite a few years, I have some like Americas going on 6+ years and still not corroded.
    Don't confuse me with facts... my mind is made up.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Crenshaw County, Alabama
    Posts
    1,619

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    Has anyone noticed a difference in quality in different brands of hardware cloth that they've purchased....gauge size is easy but how about the welding and galvanized coating?? I would think it's no biggie, but just curious if anyone has noticed.

    Ed

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Lake county, Indiana 46408-4109
    Posts
    3,545

    Default Re: 1/8" Hardware Cloth

    From the rules of "beesource" wanted




    Responders

    *Respond only if you have the product or job position.

    *If you have a question use the PM function.

    *If you are just curious take that question to another
    forum section like "Equipment" or "Beekeeping 101".

    Thanks!
    Ed, KA9CTT profanity is IGNORANCE made audible
    you can`t fix stupid not even with duct tape

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads