Default Warre Hive Questions

All,

As I mentioned in my welcome post, I am relatively new to this and that questions were forthcoming. And here they are...

1. Why is it that in a Lang hive, the hive or brood is on the bottom and honey stores are on top, while in a Warre hive, the hive or brood is on the top and honey stores are added on the bottom?? Is it possible to have a Warre hive where the brood is on the bottom and the honey stores on top (separated by an exculder)? That way it would not be required to lift the entire hive just to add more building space.

2. When I build my first Warre, I wanted to make sure that I could attach Cut-out comb to the bars. I researched a few methods on how to do it, but I really like how simple it was to have a regular 10-Bar hive frame and just place rubberbands around the frame with the comb in the middle. So I modified the dimensions of my Warre to accept the same length bar as a 10-bar hive with frame. Has anyone ever heard of a this or considered interchangeable parts between both langs and warres??

RJ9002

Default Re: Warre Hive Questions

RJ,

1) Brood in just about any hive will be near the entrance with honey stores away from the entrance. Whether you add boxes to the top or bottom, stores will be at the top. In a Langstroth you top super only, keeping the brood relatively stationary. In a Warre hive you add boxes below, and as they build comb downward they move the brood nest down, and keep filling the top with honey stores. At the end of the season your surplus honey will be at the top. I would never use a queen excluder in any hive. You can top super Warre hives, but you'll want some comes in the supers to give them a "ladder." Otherwise they'll build the combs upward from the top of the bars below, leading to horrible cross comb.