Thread: too much smoke

Default too much smoke

It's my first year, so I was a little anxious when the first super was ready, I used smoke.. A LOT of smoke, there was some burr and it's tainted with the creosote I guess, the capped is just fine and taste like pears, but I am wondering if I can or should give the burr back to the bees.

I don't want to just throw it out, it's about a pint, but I'm not sure what would happen.

they're still foraging but we're going to have some cold nights this week and I would like to give it back before the goldenrod is gone.

Tom

Default Re: too much smoke

[QUOTE=ThomG;708293 I used smoke.. A LOT of smoke, [/QUOTE] Sorry to laugh. But, too funny. eat it or give it back it is up to you. If you wont eat it then don't bottle it.

it tastes awful, and I wanted to shoot myself, I thought I ruined my very first batch, So it won't hurt the bees??

Use it for barbecue sauce?

Tony P.
    There must be a harder way to do that... let me find it for you.

would that get rid of the godawful taste?

Tom

You might also want to switch to burlap for your smoker. Or a sweet smelling grass or plant. Wonder how they do it in CA.? Maybe a good smelling tobacco or would the THC be bad for them. I never heard of someone complaining about the brownies made with it. Might be pricy so you would have to grow your own. In CA you can have 25 plants for personal use. But, that is a whole other forum.

I use Beego to remove the bee's from the frames when I extract. Made a top that soaks up beego well and just place that on top of the box and down they go out of it. No smoke needed. Don't leave it to long or smell might be the same as smoke.