Default Swarm in september

Is it normal for a hive to swarm in september in michigan? This is my first year, and I started with 2 hives. One hive is doing incredibly well, the other hive has swarmed repeatedly since June. The initial swarm I caught and made into a 3rd hive, which is starting to catch up even with the others. The hive that swarmed, had several virgin? swarms after the first big one at the end of june and beginning of july. Just 2 weeks ago I noticed they were making queen cups again, with larvae inside, not fully cells yet. I removed these as eggs were present so I knew I still had a queen. Today when I went into that hive they were very aggitated and I actually got a sting. I didn't go through the hive anymore as they were so worked up. About 2 hours later I noticed a substantial swarm high up in a tree next to the hives. Unfortunately I did not see which hive it came from, but based on earlier findings, I'm guessing it was that same hive again. Why does this hive keep swarming? I thought this late in the year, swarming was not to worry about? All the hives still appear to have a ton of bee activity, we have tons of goldenrod coming in, and they have room up top to fill more supers. Why is this happening? Is there anything I can do? I'm worried about the new queen so close to cold weather, assuming she is there and able to mate.

Default Re: Swarm in september

I live in Michigan and my hive swarmed too this month.. early September. I have yet to check on them since. Your brood box must be getting very overcrowded and with Michigan's weird weather lately, it's not too late for a swarm.

Hopefully a more experienced beekeeper can answer this one.