Thread: Swarm!

Default Swarm!

Today one of my hives swarmed. There were two clumps of bees that my husband and I retrieved out of our apple tree. I was lucky enough to see the old marked queen from the parent colony crawling up the side of the box that I placed the smaller clump of bees in. My question is, do hives ever send out two complete swarms with a queen in each swarm? The other group of bees is really worked up, still flying around and buzzing loudly. Should I put the two groups of bees together? This is my first year, so I really need advice. I know it is not a good outlook for either hive now that we are so late it the season. I plan to start feeding immediately. I guess I could give the seemingly queenless swarm a frame of brood from the parent colony, right? Or should I shake the two together? Please help!

Default Re: Swarm!

Before combining - look in the smaller swarm to see they have a queen before you combine - otherwise she is likely a virgin queen and might kill your marked (mated) queen. You may have trouble getting a virgin queen (whether from the small swarm or the remaining hive) mated this late in the year. Do you have drones in your area? Our hives stopped raising drones weeks ago and only a few seen. You may need to find a mated queen or you'll lose the original hive, too. Check to see if original hive has enough honey frames to share with swarm - just be careful you don't start robbing. Does any of this help? Good luck.

I checked that hive about two weeks ago and there was a fair bit of drone brood hatching...I actually watched one hatch...was that a sign of the upcoming swarm? The parent colony was doing fair bit of fanning about two hours after we caught the swarms. Could that mean that there isn't a new queen in the parent colony? I am worried that I only have one queen between the three groups of bees. Would it be too late in the season for them to generate a new queen from a frame of young brood? Thanks for the help!