Hybrid View

Default Observation with foundation-less and foundation frames

Hi,

I am fairly new to beekeeping. I go partly foundation-less and also use only medium size frames. With partly foundation-less I mean that I use foundation frames between
    the foundation-less frames, so that they build straight comb. In the beginning
    I just had foundation-less frames but I quickly put a few foundation frames in to
    prevent a mess. So far it works very well.

In the spring it seems the bees rather used the foundation-less frames to build new
    comb and usually use the foundation frames a little later. They also build the comb
    very quickly.
    This changed now. The bees only build little new comb but they still draw out the
    foundation frames when they need the space for honey and brood.
    My conclusion from this observation is, that I only put foundation frames or frames with already build comb in to the hives in late summer and fall.
    In spring I will use more the foundation-less frames.

I use the Mann Lake PF-125 frames, these are the black medium size frames.

Do you see similar behavior in your hives?
    What are your thoughts?

Thanks
    Stefan

Default Re: Observation with foundation-less and foundation frames

Hi Stefan
    Thanks for your findings on foundation less frames. We make ObHs, advertised on Beesource. We have been thinking about suggesting, to customers, replacing 1 deep foundation frame (we cut our notches for all deep frames) with 1 foundation less frame or 1 medium foundation frame. this would give a broader view of Bees comb building Nature and perhaps show up queen cells.
    I guess one question might be: What kind of cells did they build in the foundation less frames??
    Mark
    -----------------------------
    You can't think like a Bee, but you can watch them think.

What kind of cells did they build in the foundation less frames??