Exclamation What I thought was a swarm...HELP!!!

Ok here's the deal. Let me first just say I am fairly new to beekeeping. Even with that in mind I wasnt about to turn down a free swarm. I got the bee vac I built and actually had quite an audience and the local volunteer fire dept. there with their bucket truck. Long story short what I thought was a swarm turned out to be a bunch of girls hanging out, outside the hive after a long days work. So I vac'd em up just to appease the locals. Now heres what my dilemma is...I would love to expand my apiary, but I am certain I did not get the queen. So I have 50,000+ bees cooped up in a screened deep super and a 2 week old cut out that is just getting started and a hive Ive had since April that isnt what I would consider super strong that did I mention is in the process of (what i think anyway) replacing their queen. So I am left with this problem...I would love no more then to add another hive too the be yard but need a queen to do so and cant really afford a frame of brood from the other hives. First, what do i do with the bees for now, let them roam or feed them cooped up? and second should I or can I even make another hive this late and how. Can I still get a queen this late? Sorry this is so long...kinda hard to explain my dilemma and am still pretty excited. Thanx in advance

Default Re: What I thought was a swarm...HELP!!!

Introduce them to one of your hives you already have. Newspaper method. Step one. put down a sheet of newspaper over the top of your exposed hive. step two place the caught bees in a box above the newspaper. The idea is that by the time they've eaten through the newspaper they've adjusted to the swarm below. Worth a shot. Its worked plenty of times for me.