Default need help selecting varroa meds

I would like everyones opinion on the different brands for treatment of varroa mites. Most of the hives I have were treated with apistan strips in the past. Just didn't know much about the other brands and type of application, pros cons etc.. This is my first year and at this moment I haven't done a mite count to see if I even have to treat. Just trying to plan ahead after I take my supers off for the month of August.

Default Re: need help selecting varroa meds

If you are going to use chemicals you will need to rotate or switch chemicals on a regular basis. Mites and everything else developes resistance. So rotating chemicals will extend the period that they might have any effect.
    americasbeekeeper.com
    beekeeper@americasbeekeeper.com

Treatment ranges from doing nothing (only the strong survive) to using strong chemicals such Apistan and Checkmite (fluvalinate & coumophos). In between are a wide variety of options. Many beeks wanting to avoid chemicals use powdered sugar. There are also thymol products such as ApiGuard. New this year are HopGuard and Mite-Away Quick Strips. Other beeks use formic acid or oxalic acid. Do some searches on any of those and you'll have plenty of reading.

I did a little presentation to my bee club on this subject a month ago, which caused me to investigate this exact question. Here are my thought, for what they are worth, which I will leave to you to decide: