Default Warre Hive Hybrid Advice Requested

I'm new to beekeeping and have been looking into hive designs. I liked the concept of the Warre Hive, but was put off by some of the drawbacks. Namely, difficult hive inspection and reports of comb of one box getting connected to the top bar of the box below it. Also, I live in Arizona, and I have some concern with the quilt affecting air flow during the hot summers here. I plan on using the quilt during the winter (dec through march) and removing it in the latter half of april.

I found this discussion on the forum and had a similar idea.
    http://www.beesource.com/forums/show...ght=warre+hive

I wanted to use the 8-frame (deep)hive bodies stacked on top of each other. Ideally, I want to use a top bar in these boxes, but I'm not sure if the depth of the box itself will prevent the comb from attaching to the bars of the box below. If anyone has experience with this and could let me know, I am open to using foundation-less frames instead.

If anyone has any Warre Hive or Arizona beekeeping experience, please feel free to chime in.

BBT

Default Re: Warre Hive Hybrid Advice Requested

All the hive-type questions depend on preference: know why you want to use one or the other. And once you disregard the marketing silver-bullet magic healthy bees claims, it's really just about preference and that comes from experience . Why is the Warre the design you're leaning towards?
    Bees, brews and fun
    in Lyons, CO

Mainly, I like the ideas of natural comb and replacing the comb every year. I looked into the TBH approach, but was turned off by issues that arise due to having a horizontal hive. Initially, the Warre seemed like a compromise, but it had its own issues that I pointed out in my original post. Also, it doesn't use standard equipment so finding places that sell the hardware is somewhat difficult. Thats part of the reason I wanted to apply some of the Warre principles to a 8 frame Lang.