Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Clover

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lake Butler, Florida
    Posts
    49

    Angry Clover

    Planted 8 pounds clover in 3 fields October last year. Ran harrows lightly over fields cut shallow grooves. Sowed the seed then drug with chain-link fence. Not one plant came up, any body know why?
    Clover was (Georgia Bull Dog 5 lbs--Crimson Red 1 lb--Dutch 1 lb--New Zealand 1 lb)

  2. #2

    Default Re: Clover

    A soil test would better answer that question than us folk.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Faulkner Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    1,699

    Default Re: Clover

    did you do a germination test? Do you know for sure the seed was good quality? How about your winter, colder than normal?
    Don't forget clover is slower to germinate just like alfalfa is. It is why a cover crop is also used.
    Wait it out.
    Get a soil test as well.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Brandon, MS USA
    Posts
    1,585

    Default Re: Clover

    Clover doesn't care for fertile soil. After testing, you may find that a coating of lime will produce a heavy crop next year. But I can't imagine Nothing coming up at all... may have been too deep. Did you broadcast across the top afterwards? That's always a good idea. Also sowing a mix of 5lbs rye per 1lb clover will help it out quite a bit.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Lake Butler, Florida
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Clover

    Didn't do germination test, doesn't matter seed was already paid for. Planted in 3 fields of grass pasture. Harrows were set at 1 inch broacast by hand, drug with chain link fence. Did not broadcast top after initial dragging. Will try mixing with the rye this Fall. Have 5 extra pounds of Red Bull Dog. By the way I am in North Florida, Union, County.--Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Polk County, Ar. USA
    Posts
    302

    Default Re: Clover

    Quote Originally Posted by caribou0_0 View Post
    Planted 8 pounds clover in 3 fields October last year. Ran harrows lightly over fields cut shallow grooves. Sowed the seed then drug with chain-link fence. Not one plant came up, any body know why?
    Clover was (Georgia Bull Dog 5 lbs--Crimson Red 1 lb--Dutch 1 lb--New Zealand 1 lb)
    The same thing happened to me 2 falls ago. Drug with a drag harrow, sowed, then drug with the chain-link drag. Nothing. Last fall I used the tractor tiller then drug with drag harrow to firm it up again, then sowed, then drug with chainlink drag. Perfect stand.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    1,689

    Default Re: Clover

    It has been very dry since last winter. Maybe it just did not have enough moisture?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Alexandria, Virginia
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Clover

    Did you coat the seeds with nitrogen fixing bacteria? They are essential for clover to absorb nutrients from the soil. Ask local garden store for the inoculant. Not so cheap. Should have either been pre-treated or recommended when you bought the seed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Beaaverton,oregon,usa
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Clover

    What variety did you plant?We grow alot of cromson and red.The ph can not be acid.First we pack it then pull a culta-packer ,drill,harrow to plant.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Alexandria, Virginia
    Posts
    9

    Default Re: Clover

    Planted white and yellow clover. Still in the infant stages. The seller, Kelley Bees, said had to get the inoculant in the instructions. A lot of flower seed catalogs will mention whether they need nitrogen fixing bacteria or not. A number of plants need that extra help to really grow.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads