Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How do you like going foundationless?

I'm fairly new to beekeeping, so maybe experimenting this early is a bad idea, but I thought I would try out some foundationless frames this year. I have two nucs that are ready for another deep box. My plan was to alternate frames with foundation and frames without. I'll wire the foundationless deep frames. I also plan on trying this with a couple of honey supers.

For those of you who have already tried foundationless frames in a Langstroth box, how did you like the results? I'm sorry if the treatment free forum isn't the proper place for this question, but it seems to me that treatment free people are some of the most likely to use foundationless frames, and if it saves me from having to treat the bees as much, all the better.

Default Re: How do you like going foundationless?

I forgot to mention that the frames I am using are the foundationless frames sold by Kelley

Putting foundationless between empty foundation is likely to result in honey that is 2 1/2 inches thick and so heavy that it falls out. Foundationless between capped honey comes out beautiful.

It is great for raising drones, that I destroy for Varroa control. I like the convenience of good foundation in honey supers.
    americasbeekeeper.com
    beekeeper@americasbeekeeper.com

The only well drawn foundationless comb I have was drawn between two frames of brood. If you have frames of drone comb for varroa control, place one in the nuc when you add the foundationless frame. This helps stop the bees from drawing the foundationless comb out in drone size cells.

One of the best decisions I ever made.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beesfoundationless.htm
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF