Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Want to get started the right way

5K views 15 replies 8 participants last post by  misslechunker 
#1 ·
Hi All,

This is Viktoriya this is my first year in bee keeping and I want to get started the right way.

We have tried to order some bees from long creek apiaries but have not received any response from them despite leaving multiple messages. Does anyone have any experience with them or know how to get ahold of them.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks, Viktoriya

#3 ·
If you planned on starting hives form packages, most suppliers are sold out by this time of year. Try and locate beekeepers in your area and inquire about buying a Nucleus colony.

#5 ·
For what it is worth, H&R Apiaries out of Georgia posted on facebook a couple of weeks ago that they had a few more packages. Look them up and give Ms. Pearl a call. I just hived a package from them AND ordered a seperate Italian Queen. Those are some very nice folks!

#6 ·
Thanks everyone!
What I meant by saying I want to get started right was that I realize the importance of starting with good stock to have less problems, I keep hearing good things about Russian Bees, them being resistant (to sertain degree) to Varroa and some other mites. I know its getting pretty late to order bees, but I am still hopefull. I am going to try to work with Top Bar Hives, so my understanding is that packaged bees are better option than nucs installation vise?
I also want to thank everyone for the warm welcome and responce. If anyone has any kind of advice I would really appreciate it!
Thanks, misslechunker for the referral, I will definately research H&R Apiaries!
Also, did anyone have any experience with Honey Bee Genetics? Their website looks promising...

#8 ·
I keep hearing good things about Russian Bees,