Lightbulb Varroa - are they more an issue with Italian bees?

I'm new to all this and don't really know what I'm talking about, but have an inquisitive mind and just wanted to start a discussion.

From what I've heard, Italians (and some other races I'm sure) tend to raise brood all year long (including during the winter), while other races such as Carniolans will stop during the winter time.

My thought is that since varroa reproduce in brood, a race of bee which is constantly producing brood is less adapted toward dealing with varroa than one which stops at least for the winter.

Has anyone raised Italians along with a non-hygienic race that naturally stops their brood production during a dearth? How do they compare in terms of varroa counts?

Default Re: Varroa - are they more an issue with Italian bees?

Not sure where you heard that italians continue to raise brood during winter....they shut down in winter just like other bees...though it is later than Carnis or Russians and they tend to start earlier and build up faster in the spring initially. Bees if left natuarlly will try and adapt to a heavy mite load...mainly by swarming. This causes the queen to shut down, ceases brood production and then they swarm to escape the mites in the hive. I would imagine that Russians would be the best as what you were aiming at since they winter in small clusters, build up slow, shut down quickly during a darth...but on the other side of the coin, they produce less honey...so there is a trade off...as with everything.
    Life is tough, but it's tougher when you're stupid. John Wayne

Hmm, well I guess this doesn't specifically say they do it all winter, just that they do it after the honey flow stops : http://www.beekeepingstarterkit.com/page/1317490