Default Whats to go in swarm traps?

I have some D Coates nucs that some folks traded in on my nuc boxes when they were getting nucs from me. I do not think they will hold up to my hard use (nobody take it personally its just me) so I decided to turn them into swarm traps.
    So, how many frames would you put in em? I was thinking 2 drawn black combs, 2 foundation frames and a empty frame or just a empty space...does this sound OK?
    Any advice?
    Mike
    Please check out the new kingfisherapiaries.com!
    Like us on Facebook

Default Re: Whats to go in swarm traps?

Mike: I am no expert on swarm traps but I will give you my two cents worth. The traps will catch swarms even with no frames or comb, but having them would increase your chances. I would venture to say that if you were to leave the traps for an extended period, long enough for bees to build their own comb,it would be best to have frames to prevent a comb mess later, and with frames and comb you would have a pretty strong nuc.

So I have many of those set out as traps. I added the lemon grass oil to it, but not had any luck yet. I put two frames of foundatin and three foundationless frames. Since this is my first year I do not have access to any old comb to use as bait.
    "It's better to die upon your feet than to live upon your knees!" Zapata

Well I have about 100 or so frames that a friend gave to me- all old black stuff. With that said, what is the optimal setup?
    mike
    Like us on Facebook

The more old combs the better. Never leave empty space, a large swarm can fill it in days

I agree, the more old frames the better, fill the box up, and use lemongrass oil as well.

Old black combs are perfect. I'm with OD Frank. I wouldn't leave the space. It's just a headache to deal with later... especially if you have old dark brood combs you can put in.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF