Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default I have a complaint!

How come nowhere in all the newbie books I have read do the authors address the importance and/or usefulness of having extra frames of drawn comb. A lot of them.
    Including this info, when and how to use them would solve a lot of newbie problems.IMHO.

Default Re: I have a complaint!

I have heard from experienced beekeepers that it's great for getting new hives started, etc. However, I read an article today in "Bee Culture" that was asking the question could reusing drawn comb be spreading disease? I think in recent years this has become a concern. From what I'm reading I wonder if some authors are withholding some of the "contreversial" stuff especially in books that are teaching the "basics". I'm new to the whole thing but I pondered the drawn comb thing today. I got some drawn comb from someone this year and noticed some bugs in it and an experienced guy showed me wax moth damage and where some other bug had been up to no good in the cells. I wound up scraping all of them clean and throwing the wax away. Just some things to think about.

Not may newbies would have drawn comb,

I remember when I was a newbie, one book talked about using drawn comb and sticking the queen cell into it. I remember thinking what the hell is drawn comb and I don't have any so why is he talking about it.

I frequently bust out all my drawn comb if it had been off the hive for more then a few weeks. I don't like making my bees clean old comb. and if you store it for the winter it gets all trashed anyway.
    Always question Conventional Wisdom.

I was going through George Imirie's Pink pages and he stresses drawn comb production. In fact he reccomends feeding first year hives 24/7 for 4 months.