Default Cleaning old hives and frames

Complete newbie here. I picked up eight six hive boxes last week (see below) from a commercial beek who has gone out of business. I've heard the cautions against purchasing used equipment, but for me and my finances, it was either this or not do it at all.

All of the boxes and frames are in pretty rough condition. It is obvious the boxes and frames weren't kept very clean. As you can see there is a thick hard layer of propolis everywhere, the comb is old, black in some places, moldy, and has mouse droppings on it.

My question is how do I best clean up these boxes? Do I get a putty knife and scrape it off as best I can? Do sand it down? Do I wash it with bleach to remove diseses and germs? How is the best way to clean these up.

What about the frames (they are foundationless)? Do I get rid of all the old comb, and clean them up the best I can or just chuck them all and buy new frames (I hope not as that's a lot of money)?

Or, do I just do as the person who sold them to me recommend, and just get bees in them and let them clean them up. What would you recommend?

Default Re: Cleaning old hives and frames

If it were me.
    I would scrape all the supers down with a hive tool (works better than a putty knife) to remove the propolis and crud. If any of the supers were damaged, I would try to fix them with wood glue or wood filler. Unless I was 100% convinced there was no AFB in the hives, I would run a blow torch over the inside of the boxes. (this will also loosen up propolis). I would then use liberal amounts of sandpaper to remove flaking paint and left over propolis. Use "oops" paint from the local hardware store (under $5 a gallon) and paint the outsides. A little maintenance before the bees arrive will save you lots of money down the road.

As far as the frames go: