Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Your favorite 'natural beekeeping' BLOGS?

11K views 15 replies 11 participants last post by  KiwiMana 
#1 ·
Let us know your favorite BLOGS that feature and promote non-chemical type 'natural' beekeeping methods. Commercial, hobbiest, newbie, whatever - tell us the blogs you find enjoyable to read that are in keeping with the spirit of non-chemical or treatment-free beekeeping. :)
Including a very brief description of each blog you like will be helpful for others.

#3 ·
I'm a complete newbie, waiting on my first packages to arrive, but some of my best research over the last few years has come from reading http://beekeeperlinda.blogspot.com/.

It would be informative in any case, but the author lives in my area, which makes it an especially good read for me.

I think she started with a chemical-free approach and is moving toward a treatment-free approach.

Tangential: I put out a LGO-baited nuc and deep hive body, both with waxed PF-100 frames, and when it was up around 70 degrees the other day, I watched a single honeybee (only the second one I've seen this year) spend about ten minutes checking out the nuc. It was an absolutely amazing feeling.

#4 ·
one of my new favorites is SOMDBEEKEEPER.COM both the podcasts and forum are very informative.....also you can post any kind of organic or natural question you want and not get lectured by some old and set in his ways beekeeper about how organic or natural practices dont work

#6 · (Edited)
Hi stacie,

thanks for the compliment - I enjoy writing my blog. I have never used any treatments and see myself as a "natural beekeeper" with a chemical free approach since with all the pesticides in the world and a 3 mile radius of flying for the bees, we can't say we are organic beekeepers. I also use foundationless frames and am experimenting with top bar hives.

I've had a great time with my blog and it's been going now for five full years - the sixth year begins in April.