Default What is considered commercial. Ok need help with budget?

Is it a number of colonies or your primary income. I have been messing around with the insects for a couple of years now and would like to get to0 100 or 200 hives. Is anyone willing to share some of your budget rule of thumb with me. thanks in advance. Intially if I could look at it as cost per 100 hives with possible income strategies. As most of the local boys seem all over the board. I have a opportunity to purchase 25 ten frame new boxes, with 8 frame guarantee for 115. The idea being to split and get to 100 colonies by season end. Sounds pretty good but what would the cost be to add equipment and supplies and does anyone have some examples. I understand if I am asking to much info. but the old saying goes your miss 100 % of the shots you don't take. Much appreciated for any positive direction from the group Is the example above possible?
    Last edited by blackflag; 03-16-2011 at 11:05 AM. Reason: Question is answered in discription box above.

Default Re: What is considered commercial?

Your fixed costs - boxes, frames, tops, pallets or bottoms, etc. should be easy to figure out. You just need to get a bee catalog and do the math. The other thing you didn't mention is are you just doing pollination or honey or both? If you are doing honey you are going to need supers, extrator, spinners, space or shop, etc. so you will need to figure that in . Figure 3 supers min. to start with so with 100 hives you should have 300 supers on hand and that may be short. Lastly, you will need a truck, swinger or use of one, and yards.

On top of that, don't expect to get 100 hives our of 25 in a season. I like to figure it like this. If I have 100 strong hives for splits I figure I can get 70 good spits started. (3-5 frame splits) Given that, if nothing else goes wrong you can get close to doubling your hives but not necessary a honey crop.