Default My new colony has died... what happened?

I am a beginner beekeeper and found my entire colony dead today. Just last month they were buzzing loud enough to hear them without opening the hive. I have pictures of what I found today. Is it nosema? Can I clean this hive and start a new colony or do I need to buy a new hive? These bees came from Georgia and are an Italian strain.

Default Re: My new colony has died... what happened?

There is just not enough information in your post to give a good diagnosis, pictures may help

The format/size I uploaded was not acceptable. Here is a PDF with some pics. I had to knock the quality down in order to meet the size limitations.

put your pics in photobucket then insert the image here that way. much easier and no size restrictment.

I don't see any filled comb but the pics are limited in scope. Was there any honey left in the hive at all? This time of year is a bad time for bees starving and freezing to death. Were you feeding them? As mentioned above it is pretty difficult to make a call without more info.

There was still a lot of honey left in the hive. Since this was the first year I did not remove any honey. The comb is wavy and dark brown in some areas. The bees were pretty loud about a month ago when I checked on them last. They seem to have died throughout the hive and not in a cluster.

Weather in Michigan has ranged from 50 degree days in early February and dropping to single digits within days. Could there have been condensation built up and they froze? The hive was wrapped in a heavy black plastic for the winter but I left ventilation openings at the top and bottom.

Could it be nosema? I've been told this happens frequently in late winter/early spring if not treated. Of course, I did not treat for this since I did not know about it.