Default Varroa questions

Theoretically, IF you could buy a package of varroa-free bees, how would varroa enter the hive? Returning field bees? Returning drones? Robbers/robbing (both sides)? Other?

Default Re: Varroa questions

This is a mystery to me too. But, logic seems to say that, since unlike SHB, varroa can't fly and can't live off of a bee for very long, the bees must be carrying them from a source back home w/ them. So, maybe it is from robbing bees. But how would a varroa "know" to get onto a robbing bee? Just by chance?

I worked as an Apiary Inspector starting in 1986 when there weren't any known cases of Varroa jacobsonii in NY. Then, over the next 4 or 5 years there was nowhere in NY that one could not find varroa, and no hives either.

We, meaning NYS Apiary Inspectors, briefly considered jumpsuits that we would take off and fumigate after each Apiary Inspection to decrease the possibilirty of spreading Varroa from beekeeper to beekeeper on our clothing. I'm sure no one else remembers that conversation.
    Mark Berninghausen To combat Ebola, please consider supporting http://www.doctorswithoutborders.org

For some the school of thought is drones from an infected hive, as most of the time guard bees don't see them as a threat.

Makes sense.
    Mark Berninghausen To combat Ebola, please consider supporting http://www.doctorswithoutborders.org

I think the answer has to be robbing and drifting, plus the odd influx of bees from a collapsing colony.
    RSBrenchley@aol.com
    Birmingham UK