Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Provisioning new nucs?

I have been using 4 frame nucs for several years but am considering 4 way mating boxes. Dadant just added the Shamrock-S 4 way mating boxes to their catalog but I don't know if new frames with foundation and young bees is enough to get started. I have read on this site over the years that some get away with a handful of bees and a queen while others provision heavily. My experience with 4 frame nucs is that the more provisions the better the odds of success. I know you have to keep an eye on mating boxes because they can expand quickly but my question is more toward initial set up. Could I get 10 Shamrock boxes, shake in a bunch of bees, add mated queens (to get them started) drive then a couple miles away and have success or is it better to have a colony draw out the Shamrock on top and then use it for queen rearing?
    Lets assume good weather and a nectar flow plus a feeder and a patty.

Default Re: Provisioning new nucs?

I have used a 24 oz styrafoame cup of bees and a queen cell on new plasticell and a feeder full of HFCS but you have to leave them closed up until the queen is 3 days old,(in a dark cool Place) a laying queen would be best.

Do you mean a caged queen would not be released?
    Last edited by Barry; 02-24-2011 at 02:24 PM. Reason: quoting

talking about a queen cell and 24 oz cup of bees let the hole nuc stay closed, they will all leave if not closed up till she is 3 days old from cell hatching

a laying queen you can jut let them chew her out and leave nuc open

Very interesting. So using mated queens might be a faster way to get started. I had hoped to add mated queens until the nucs were up and running and then replace with cells from my own operation while using the mated queens to requeen production colonies.