Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Greetings from upstate NY

I just thought I'd finally introduce myself here. I've been reading through the posts and archives in preparation for my first package of bees in April. I live about 15 minutes from Greenwich, NY where Betterbee is based, which is quite convenient for me. Not only can I pick the bees up in person, I have all the supplies/equipment I need just a short drive away.

This will be my first year at beekeeping. Besides this forum and another, I've read a few books on the subject and feel like I'm finally getting there. I'm a photographer and I feel like beekeeping and photography are similar, in the fact that you're constantly learning. It doesn't matter how many books I read, it's hands-on experience that will teach me the most.

With all the info I've gathered so far, I'm leaning toward the Warre hive. I believe it suits my needs the best, and look forward to the years ahead. I also look forward to discussions here, as there tends to be some knowledgeable people amongst us. Thanks so much!

Default Re: Greetings from upstate NY

Welcome to the site!

Welcome!
    americasbeekeeper.com
    beekeeper@americasbeekeeper.com

Welcome to Beesource, Holmes.
    So many weeds.......so little time.

As a beginning beekeeper I am curious why you are considering a Warre hive.
    "one person can make a difference and everyone should try."http://www.highwoodsbees.com

Welcome to Beesource.

Thanks to everyone for the warm welcome!