Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thumbs Up New Bee in Montana

Greetings to all from sub-zero Montana! My name is John and I decided to raise a couple of hives to help with pollination for my fruit trees, garden and acres of wild flowers. I raised bees back in 1966 in California after a master bee keeper removed a hive from our wall at our house. Back then I had no clue what I was doing. One evening after the sun had set I opened the hive and was immeadeately swarmed. The bees got under my veil and under my clothes and I sustained about 50 stings before I could crawl into the house where my dad beat the bees off of me with a broom.I layed on the couch and was sick for 24hrs. I wish I would have educated myself before I opened the hive for the first time. I have decided to go with a top bar hive and a Langstrof. I built my top bar hive and anticipate it will perform very well. I have been viewing this forum for 3 months in preparation for my leap into bee keeping this spring. My biggest concern is over wintering the bees here in Montana. When I got up yesterday it was minus 20 degrees. I am very thankful for this forum where "Old Pros" are willing to mentor "New Bees".

Bee seein you around,

John Q

Default Re: New Bee in Montana

Welcome to the site!

Welcome to Beesource, John.
    So many weeds.......so little time.

Hi John,

If you want some inspiration on keeping bees in the bitter cold, particularly overwintering them, grab a copy of the February American Bee Journal and read about the fellow who overwintered a hive of bees (Russians, I think) 100 miles north of the Arctic Circle in a small Alaska town. He devised a clever way to shelter his hive from the bitter cold and deep snow.

I look forward to reading about your venture with the TBH. This is my second time around at beekeeping as well, and I too will be starting with a home-built TBH and also a Langstroth hive using 8-frame mediums. My two packages are due to arrive around April 13. I can hardly wait.