Default Wholesale prices for raw honey?

Hey, all -

I've found some higher-end food stores to sell my honey though. I've never done it before - so I don't know where to price it for my stores.

My retail prices in mason jars:

$7 half pint
    $13 pint
    $20 quart

Where would I price my wholesale rates?
    Basic, elemental / instinct to survive
    Stirs the higher passions / Thrill to be alive

Default Re: Wholesale prices for raw honey?

I sure would like to get what you are for my honey. My retail price is $12.00 qt and $6.50 pt.Sold some to a local farmstore for $11.00 a qt.Maybe I should take a salesman lesson.

Merlyn - I did all my price research here on www.beesource.com. With all the different prices spinning in my head I got crabby and set my prices high with a take-it-or-leave-it attitude. I figure this is an expensive endeavor and I have to pay for it somehow without chasing all over.

Have you tried raising your prices a little knowing you aren't going to get every sale but will end up spending more time with your bugs and less time chasing sales?

Selling into stores is a different thing for me. I guess I need insurance.

I sell 1 lb jars of Raw Honey for $4.00 each, at wholesale.

I sell alot of nonRaw honey too. I got a new customer yesterday. He wanted a half case of 12 oz. Honeybears and a half case of 1 lb jars. They cost him $2.75 and $3.75 respectively. When he asked me how much to sell them for I said "$3.99 for the Bears and $4.99 for the one pounders.".

So, when selling wholesale, you might want to have a Suggested Retail Price. You may also want to know what the stores policy is on Mark Up. How much do they mark up Groceries and how much do they Mark Up Produce. Where your honey is sold in a store can make all the difference. I recommend you try to get it in the Produce Section and get signage promoting Local Honey.