Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default planning ahead in upstate NY

Hello.

Our family has a hundred acres plus of rural land, with a few old farm fields included. Im looking at getting two or three hives to start as a hobby. Honey for the family. Ok I admit it.. it'd be more fun to sell it than give it away!!!

Im in upstate NY, Oneida County.... Im just learning with this site and the book I bought (Cornell pub). Im a bit overwhelmed by the variety of choices with equipment to begin with, but so far i seem to be leaning with deep frames for the bees to live and store in, and medium supers on top. I keep reading different advice, but this is my starting point.

Im interested in some regional advice (I do have some local contacts as well) to hear what others are doing for hardware... I think I am going to assemble components mostly by Dadant (figure i can drive to Waverly to avoid shipping charges) or maybe Betterbee. I still have to figure out getting packages this spring locally so if anyone can help that'd be apprieciated.

Im sure my firsts posts will oooze my naivety, but hoping that will improve over time.

Thanks for having me here, Bluelake

Default Re: planning ahead in upstate NY

I am a bit south of you in Ulster County. I use deeps for the bees to live in. In upstate you will want to winter with 2 deeps. I use mediums for honey supers. You will need to decide on what type of frames you want to use as well. I use wooden with plastic foundation, but it really is just personal preference. I tend to keep a slatted rack on my hives as well. Plan for some sort of ipm (integrated pest management) in your hives and try to hook up with a local beek to give you a hand.

Quote Originally Posted by LandellApiaries View Post