Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Kenyan Top Bar Hive, first hive!

10K views 21 replies 10 participants last post by  tommyt 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone,

I am very new to the beekeeping world and very excited to get involved. I am president of the botanical society at my university and thought it may be a good experience and beneficial to start some bees for pollination of a new, fairly large, vegetable garden on campus. I would also like to promote the usefulness and importance of bees in our area. Another location of the univeristy also keeps bees around the campus for the same reasons.

But before I felt I could manage a hive at the campus I thought I would give it a try at my home first. If my neighbors had problems I would hopefully move the bees to the campus, which it about 10 blocks away. I also have flowering plants in my yard along with vegetable gardens mostly year round as I live in Florida.

So I did some research for a while and decided to build a Kenyan top bar hive as a little Thanksgiving Day project with my father and grandfather. We finished it in time to eat turkey and watch the Dallas Cowboys get defeated :doh:

Anyway here is the result:

See less See more
#3 ·

So what do you think? It was a lot of fun to build and turned our pretty nice. I set it on those blocks for picture purposes, I have to clean up the area and find some suitable legs. I may stick with the block unless I build some legs for it. It is made from pine, 3' long, 15" wide, 12" tall. It is based on Phillip Chandlers design, except we put in a Plexiglass window from an old fish tank. (Recycling!)The wire screen on the bottom is fairly large mesh, big enough for the bees to go through ( I used this wire screen to protect watermelon from rodents and as a lattice for snow peas, more recycling!). Will this be a problem? I think I will paint it white for temperature purposes as it can get toasty down here in the summer.
Any and all comments are appreciated!

#4 ·
St.PeteBees,