Thread: queen cell cups

Default queen cell cups

Does anyone use wax cell cups? Wouldn't plastic cups work just as good?
    I would like to hear from someof you all with some expertize in this . Thanks Warren

Re: queen cell cups

Plastic is best... much easier to handle and great take... we use them with wooden cups to get 44 cells per bar, 2 bars per frame, so 88 cells per frame... Also, the plastic cells can be litely scraped and reused.

Default Re: queen cell cups

I'm not an expert but I have used both with equal success. The only reason that I prefer wax cups is because I can dip a full bar's worth at a time. My dipping jig has 19 dowels, so I can make 19 X 6 bars = 114 cups in short order. The number of bars represents the two queen cell frames with three bars each. There are other ways of fastening plastic cups to make it easier so it is probably a matter of personal preference. The wax is free, however.

My acceptance rate with wax cells is a bit higher than plastic, but plastic is much easier to work with, in my opinion. And contrary to a previous post, reusing plastic cups is a huge waste of time. My take with reused cups is nearly zero.

I think the bees attach wax to a wax cup more readily than to plastic, which is the reason for my higher acceptance rate.

I've been making a hybrid queen cups now for a couple years. Basically speaking, I'm dipping plastic JZBZ queen cups into wax to build up the lip of the cell cup. The bees can then easily attach more wax and draw the cups out themselves. This is a "Modified Miksa" cell cup method, which is outlined in Larry Connor's book, "Queen Rearing Essentials" and which was a story in one of the bee journals a while back.

DS

I reuse them. Maybe there is a little less acceptance. I can't tell the difference. The new ones smell like plastic to them. The used ones smell like queen cells...
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF